It was a hard decision, but we have our Oskar Barnack Award and Oskar Barnack Newcomer Award winners! However, you have to wait until the announcement in June to learn who they are and see their images.
In the meantime, we wanted to give you an insider’s glimpse into the deliberation process. Watch this video to see our jury debate back and forth on all the entries. Our jury faced some tough decisions, but were able to choose the best of the best to receive the awards.
This year’s jury members included: Karin Rehn-Kaufmann, Artistic Director of the Leica Galerie in Salzburg, Brigitte Schaller, Art Director of Leica Fotografie International magazine, Dimitri Beck, publisher of Polka Magazine in France, Markus Schaden, a publisher and independent curator from Germany, and photographers Klavdij Sluban and Peter Turnley.
The winners of the two awards, the Leica Oskar Barnack Award and the Leica Oskar Barnack Newcomer Award 2013, will be presented in the course of the Rencontres Internationales de la Photographie photography festival held in Arles, France from 1 to 7 July 2013.
-Leica Internet Team
 For more information about the Leica Oskar Barnack Award, click here.